Get CPR certified in 30 minutes at CPR Test Center.
Echo & Alexa Forums

Echo w/ whole house audio

kid_drew

Echo w/ whole house audio
« on: October 29, 2016, 11:58:14 am »
I'm just getting started with the Echo, so apologies for being a newbie and if this question has been asked 100 times already.  We have 6-zone whole house audio, and I'm trying to figure out if it's possible to integrate an Echo with this so I can control it from every room.  I'm less worried about the technical details of interacting with my equipment - I'm more interested in figuring out how to bridge multiple Echos together to make a network.

Ideally, I would have Echos scattered all over the house (zones), and the network would be smart enough to know that a command to turn on Pandora needs to be passed to the Echo in my equipment closet.

Is this possible?  Wishful thinking?
« Last Edit: October 30, 2016, 08:58:02 pm by kid_drew »

Premierduo

Re: Echo w/ whole house audio
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2016, 12:05:00 pm »
Echo or Echo Dots running on the same wifi router can control any lights anywhere. The zones are set up via the phone app for eg Phillips Hue.
So say you want the kitchen lights on and you're in the bedroom, you can ask the bedroom dot to do this.

DParker

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2016, 03:42:08 pm »
Echo or Echo Dots running on the same wifi router can control any lights anywhere.

Your Echos/Dots don't even need to be in the same network.  The integration with smart devices is tied to your Amazon Alexa account, not the network(s) your devices are in.

kid_drew

« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2016, 08:57:20 pm »
Ok, but to control the whole-house audio system, the network would have to know to send the command to the Dot located in my equipment closet.  I don't want audio coming out of the closest Dot, only the one in the closet.  Is that possible?

Offline kevb

« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2016, 07:32:07 am »