Get CPR certified in 30 minutes at CPR Test Center.
Echo & Alexa Forums

How to determine current volume setting

KelloggKid

How to determine current volume setting
« on: September 09, 2016, 03:53:08 pm »
I'm new to the Echo/Alexa and very impressed.  I do have a question however that I can't seem to find the answer to.  I know that I can ask Alexa to change the volume to a percentage level by giving it a number between 1 and 10.  For example "Alexa set volume to 6". 

What I haven't been able to find out is how can I tell what the current volume level might be.  Is there a command that will cause Alexa to to reveal the current volume level setting?

DParker

Re: How to determine current volume setting
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2016, 04:55:08 pm »
I'm new to the Echo/Alexa and very impressed.  I do have a question however that I can't seem to find the answer to.  I know that I can ask Alexa to change the volume to a percentage level by giving it a number between 1 and 10.  For example "Alexa set volume to 6". 

What I haven't been able to find out is how can I tell what the current volume level might be.  Is there a command that will cause Alexa to to reveal the current volume level setting?

"Alexa, play Stranglehold by Ted Nugent."

You'll find out your volume setting pretty quickly.  ;)

Yoda_One

« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2016, 08:55:04 pm »
[emoji38]

mike27oct

« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2016, 11:33:12 pm »
My "solution" is to tell Alexa to set volume level 4 while it is playing. This will not blow out your ears, but loud enough to tell.  I will know then if the volume was higher or lower.  My usual volume level is 4, 5, maybe sometimes 6.  It often depends upon the TuneIn station playing or if we are further away than usual.

Anyway, you will figure it out in a short time.

« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2016, 12:43:15 am »