Get CPR certified in 30 minutes at CPR Test Center.
Echo & Alexa Forums

Light Switches that Don't Require a Hub Echo Plus

U_LUZE

Light Switches that Don't Require a Hub Echo Plus
« on: November 24, 2017, 09:47:22 pm »
Hi All,

I'm new to the Echo Plus. I've searched in various places and can't find a simple answer. Which light switches will work without a hub on the Echo Plus that you recommend? Just a simple single location switch. I see the Z-waves are relatively inexpensive but they don't work with the Echo Plus without a hub? I've seen others but they are much more expensive and less common. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

mike27oct

Re: Light Switches that Don't Require a Hub Echo Plus
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 01:43:59 am »
One of the more popular brands is by TP Link and the Amazon store at my local mall sells then by the ton.  I presume it will worn on the Plus; it works for all the other devices.  Picked one up tonight for just $5 at Amazon store for black friday special.  It's not the one I prefer (the mini plug) but for $5 we can find a place for it somewhere.

Offline kevb

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2017, 09:42:24 am »
Here is a link for compatible devices from Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=17238426011

Here's a switch:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015YJAHY0/ref=gbps_tit_m13_7ce7_d7c6d30e?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_p=16eea001-5ce6-4b76-8d05-250db1bf7ce7&pf_rd_s=merchandised-search-13&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_i=17238426011&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=HRXRX1BRVDA06MQNZMW7

The Echo Plus has a zigbee radio- you are correct in that it won't communicate directly with z-wave products. There are also differing zigbee protocols, so not every zigbee device will work. I can't help directly as I don't have a Plus. I do have a z-wave home automation system, so the Plus doesn't do anything "extra" for me.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 09:47:16 am by kevb »

malliekm

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2017, 12:27:17 pm »