Get CPR certified in 30 minutes at CPR Test Center.
Echo & Alexa Forums

Echo, Dot and Sonos

Bryluq

Echo, Dot and Sonos
« on: January 01, 2017, 11:58:18 pm »
Ok, so I'd really like to get in on the whole house music scene. I really like what I'm seeing with Echo and Echo Dot and also what I'm hearing about the Sonos Play 1.

But I am a newbie to this so let me start off my series of really annoying queries with this one:

I'm looking at putting individual Dots in the bedrooms, bathrooms, family room and one outside building and an Echo in my kitchen (which is the main hub of activity). This would amount to 8 dots and 1 Echo. I'd also be doing the same with the Sonos plus an additional one in the kitchen and family room (but not one in the outside building due to humidity issues).

1. Is this too many systems in the location? Will I run into issues with overlap? My goal would be to have each individual room be it's own contained environment so, for example, my older daughter can listen to her music in her room, my son can listen to his music next door in his room, I can listen to music in the kitchen, etc.

2. My outside building is covered but still exposed to temperature and humidity. Will this be an issue with Dot?

That's enough from me on this one. What do you all think? (Yes, I know I'm looking at over $2k$

kbro

Re: Echo, Dot and Sonos
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 12:51:10 am »