Echo & Alexa User Discussions and Support Forums

General Category => Google Home => Topic started by: jimsparky on January 21, 2019, 08:06:20 am

Title: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: jimsparky on January 21, 2019, 08:06:20 am
Dog barks downstairs when you are upstairs,

"Ok Google broadcast"
What would you like to Broadcast,
"MAX QUIET"
Works every time.
Title: Re: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: mike27oct on January 21, 2019, 02:14:45 pm
A cool feature i did not know about.  similar to one Alexa device calling another.
Title: Re: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: jwlv on January 21, 2019, 03:50:39 pm
Alexa also has broadcast (say "announce" instead of "broadcast") that works exactly the same way. I've been using it to announce to the rest of the house that dinner's ready. :)
Just say "Alexa, announce."
Title: Re: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: mike27oct on January 22, 2019, 03:19:59 am
Thanks!  I have lots more alexa devices to do this with.  I did notice today that I can give broadcasts via Google assistant both in home network AND cell phone network.  I will see if Alexa app can do same.
Title: Re: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: MaryLou on January 23, 2019, 11:29:25 pm
Thanks for both tips - Broadcast and Announce!  Tried it, expected to hear Alexa's voice and was surprised to hear myself!!
Title: Re: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: mike27oct on January 24, 2019, 02:09:07 am
Now, I don't want to confuse anyone with TMI, but when wife accidentally asked Alexa to Broadcast, it did it, so then we discovered Google Home responds to Announce!  Do these devices come out of the same factory???
Title: Re: Using Broadcast to shut the dog up
Post by: renegade600 on January 24, 2019, 02:25:57 pm
Now, I don't want to confuse anyone with TMI, but when wife accidentally asked Alexa to Broadcast, it did it, so then we discovered Google Home responds to Announce!  Do these devices come out of the same factory???

would not be surprised if they did  :-)