Echo & Alexa User Discussions and Support Forums

General Category => Echo Technical Support => Topic started by: jaydee on December 24, 2016, 06:55:23 pm

Title: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: jaydee on December 24, 2016, 06:55:23 pm
I am trying to configure the flash briefing. When I go to the flash briefing in the app or via the web it says "No feeds to display". I clicked on "Get more flash briefing content" and added a few sources but still nothing displays under On or Off in the app. When I go to the source I added in the echo store and click "Manage in flash briefing" it still doesn't show up. Am I doing something wrong? Why won't the briefing work? Thanks!
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: ollie on December 30, 2016, 10:36:36 am
Me too, any help out there? I'm using my Echo Dot in France, would that make any difference? (not being able to get local weather or time is a massive pain!!)
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: TheWoodster on December 30, 2016, 10:58:57 am
Sorry if this is a daft question but do you also get nothing if you ask for your flash briefing or is it just the feeds that aren't displayed?
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: ollie on December 30, 2016, 01:31:12 pm
It didn't work earlier, Alexa just told me to go and set some feeds up. However since I've enabled the BBC one, If I ask for the news I now get it so I guess that's OK, but when I click the Manage in Flash Briefing button on the BBC skills page I get taken to the feeds page which displays nothing.
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: jaydee on December 30, 2016, 01:49:28 pm
Sorry if this is a daft question but do you also get nothing if you ask for your flash briefing or is it just the feeds that aren't displayed?
The briefing plays but I have no way to manage what it says as none of the feeds show up in the manage feeds area.
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: TheWoodster on December 30, 2016, 02:05:10 pm
Using my PC, I can find my sources via settings -> account -> flash briefing - is that what you mean? There's about 15 sources listed and I have 5 enabled. I can't be sure but I think they play in the order I activated them so if that's true, maybe deactivating them all and starting again with your preferred order might make a difference. I don't know why sources don't show up though  :(
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: jaydee on December 30, 2016, 06:49:26 pm
Here are some screenshots that might help.

This is what I see when I navigate to the CNET briefing that I added:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LYTlXSlhwY2pzM1E (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LYTlXSlhwY2pzM1E)

Yet this is what I see when I click on "Manage in Flash Briefing" on the CNET app above OR navigate to Settings -> Flash Briefing:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LbWNjN19oUkY2NnM (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LbWNjN19oUkY2NnM)
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: ollie on December 31, 2016, 03:19:03 am
Here are some screenshots that might help.

This is what I see when I navigate to the CNET briefing that I added:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LYTlXSlhwY2pzM1E (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LYTlXSlhwY2pzM1E)

Yet this is what I see when I click on "Manage in Flash Briefing" on the CNET app above OR navigate to Settings -> Flash Briefing:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LbWNjN19oUkY2NnM (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzf6C05Kfv-LbWNjN19oUkY2NnM)

This is exactly the same for me
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: TheWoodster on December 31, 2016, 04:47:32 am
Have you done the 'unplug and leave for at least 5 minutes' thing? From what I've gathered here, it's like a reboot so you don't lose anything. Same with uninstalling and reinstalling the app. Might be worth a try.
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: ollie on December 31, 2016, 10:42:42 am
Have you done the 'unplug and leave for at least 5 minutes' thing? From what I've gathered here, it's like a reboot so you don't lose anything. Same with uninstalling and reinstalling the app. Might be worth a try.

Tried it, not worked. I guess a full reset is in order (how do I even do that?)
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: strayfish on December 31, 2016, 11:07:19 am
Have you done the 'unplug and leave for at least 5 minutes' thing? From what I've gathered here, it's like a reboot so you don't lose anything. Same with uninstalling and reinstalling the app. Might be worth a try.

Tried it, not worked. I guess a full reset is in order (how do I even do that?)

I'd get onto Amazon's helpline now, see what they come up with. Is everything else working ok?
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: ollie on December 31, 2016, 02:27:51 pm
Yeah, everything else seems fine, just this. I'll let you know what happens.

Knowing Amazon, I bet it'll be next year before they get back to me ;)
Title: Re: No feeds to display in flash briefing
Post by: strayfish on December 31, 2016, 06:07:24 pm
Ha, yes indeed! In the meantime, ask it to sing Auld Lang Syne :)