Echo & Alexa User Discussions and Support Forums

General Category => Amazon Echo Discussion => Topic started by: Alexto on December 10, 2016, 04:40:13 pm

Title: Two Echos in two households
Post by: Alexto on December 10, 2016, 04:40:13 pm
I have two Echo's in two different locations; 'city' and 'country'.    I control my Lutron lighting with the Echo.   The problem is that the Echo doesn't seem to be aware of its location.    So when I say 'Alexa, turn BEDROOM lights on' and I'm in the country, it turns the CITY bedroom lights on.    Yes, I am aware that instead of just calling the room 'BEDROOM' in both the city, and the country home, I could call each room "City Bedroom" and "Country Bedroom", but don't want to have to say "Alexa, turn on City Bedroom" or "Alexa, turn on Country Bedroom".   It's just not intuitive.    Any way to make Alexa aware of its location so it only activates the commands pertinent to the location in the pertinent Wifi?

And yes, I know: "First world problem", but I have a lot of them.
Title: Re: Two Echos in two households
Post by: DParker on December 10, 2016, 04:52:02 pm
Any way to make Alexa aware of its location so it only activates the commands pertinent to the location in the pertinent Wifi?

Awareness and control of devices are tied to your Amazon account, not the Echo devices.  As such, the only way to address different devices by the same name is to use seperate Amazon accounts for each Echo.
Title: Re: Two Echos in two households
Post by: renegade600 on December 11, 2016, 04:43:24 am
create two different amazon accounts, one for your house and one for the country
Title: Re: Two Echos in two households
Post by: Musock on May 28, 2017, 01:49:20 pm
create two different bathmate goliath pumps (https://www.grosseteste.com/bathmate-goliath-review-results) amazon accounts, one for your house and one for the country

Do you need more than one credit card to set up 2 accounts?
Title: Re: Two Echos in two households
Post by: scottrods on May 28, 2017, 10:23:21 pm
Just 2 addresses and names... I think you could use the same card on two accounts. You don't need Amazon Prime to use the Echos... just am Amazon Account.