Echo & Alexa Forums

Dot audio connection question

Lils

Dot audio connection question
« on: October 19, 2016, 03:57:07 pm »
I am new to this but think I have found most of my answers except for:  I plan to have the Dot placed near where I sit in the LR and have approx a 15 foot audio cable, (hopefully not too long?), running to my Denon reciever.  One thing I am a little unsure of is the best way to make the audio connection from the Dot to my Denon receiver.  Attached is a photo of the rear of the receiver for reference. 

Since the Dot only has a 3.5mm audio output and I think my Denon only has HDMI and stereo RCA inputs, I guess I will need to split the 3.5 output from the echo so that I can plug it in to an RCA audio input on the Denon?  As can be seen in the photo, I have several empty RCA inputs.  But those are all imputs are labeled for devices that I already have plugged in via HDMI.  Will this matter?  In other words, if I plug the Dot into the RCA "DVD" input, will it matter that my DVD is already connected to the HDMI "DVD" input?  Or are those completely separate?

I suppose one more question is, given what is shown in the photo of the rear of my Denon, is there a better way to connect the Dot?

Thank you very much for any advice!

Can't seem to attach a file to this so here is a link to it: 
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 04:21:23 pm by Lils »

mike27oct

Re: Dot audio connection question
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 02:10:24 am »
Yours is at least the third question here about "how do I connect the Dot audio to my stereo receiver".  It's beginning to make me feel like I am back working in the stereo store from my past days and answering "Stereo 101" questions from customers again.  I hope you saw the other similar questions posted here.

Anyway, your question is different enough, so I will tackle it.