Echo & Alexa Forums

living in France, echo in english

craftaddict

living in France, echo in english
« on: June 30, 2018, 04:09:24 am »
I have been using my echo for the past 6 months in english, the only setting I couldn't use was my home address as french addresses were not accessible. I put in an address in Luxembourg which is physically the nearest to me.

Now that alexa has arrived in France it doesn't work anymore. I have no access to skills at all. I can't set reminders anymore, get told this is not available.

I thought that things would be easier now but doesn't work very well at all anymore.

I don't want to set it up in french and don't need any specific french skills.

Can anyone help please ?

I wanted to attach an image of the message I get but it seems attachments are not allowed.

MartinB999

Re: living in France, echo in english
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2018, 06:14:32 am »
Hi Craftaddict
I've just spoken to my friend who lives in France (near Nimes, Montpellier). She had the same. She got around this by deregistering her device then reinstalling it with her French address. She says everything works fine now. Hope this helps.

craftaddict

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2018, 07:51:02 am »
thank you Martin, will have to try that as last resort. So she has it with her french address and uses it in english ?

DavidA

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2018, 07:33:50 am »
I'm in France, use the Dot in English but can only use French skills even though the Dot is linked to my English Amazon account.

I wish that this issue could be sorted out!

craftaddict

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2018, 07:45:18 am »