Echo & Alexa Forums

New guy with Alexa questions

justcrash

New guy with Alexa questions
« on: February 20, 2018, 08:19:27 am »
Hello, and thank you for allowing me to join! I apologize if this question isn't in the right place. Mods, feel free to move it or close this and I can put it wherever you'd like me to post it.

With this tax return, I decided to go "all in" on making my home a "smart home." I work in IT so most of this has been pretty simple, but I am just not familiar enough with Alexa to know what I am doing wrong.

If these are dumb questions, forgive me. I have an Echo or a dot in every room of the house (I think 7-8 total), 3 Amazon firesticks that Alexa will not control, which seems silly to me. I bought a Roomba 680, several TP Link bulbs and outlets, a Ring door bell and floodlight (not installed yet, waiting on warmer weather. Today it is going to be 72 in Central Ohio, so of course this is a 17 hour work day for me), an Ecobee 4, and a Samsung smartthings hub.

I THINK the Smartthings hub pulled "scenes" off of the ecobee and fed them to Alexa. Shed now has scenes, good morning, good bye, I'mhome and good night.

Alexa will not recognize these scenes by any voice action I take. "Alexa, good night." "Alexa, turn on good night."

I don't know how to use "scenes" with Alexa, I guess.

Also, is it possible to use Alexa to schedule things? My goal is to get door sensors (I was hoping for a decent set of door sensors that didn't require a hub but I don't see any) to arm when I say "good night" or "good bye." I don't need notifications every time we put the dogs out.

I want to buy 3 more TP Link bulbs for outside, can Alexa to schedule those to turn on/turn off with sunset/sunrise?

Tl;dr version:

• How do I use scenes with Alexa?
    Can I add things to "scenes" to get multiple devices to do actions I set up in advance?
    Can I schedule lights to turn on/off with a schedule with the equipment I have?

dragon123

Re: New guy with Alexa questions