Echo & Alexa Forums

Missing Features - Echo in Canada

canIndian

Missing Features - Echo in Canada
« on: January 08, 2018, 03:04:47 pm »
Hi All, I am new to Echo. Recently purchased the device and set it up. When I set up the device I was able to see the "Your Voice" and "Household profile features". Never realized that my default account set up was for the US. And the moment I changed it to Canada to get curated skills, I lost both the above functionalities from settings.

Makes me believe that Amazon has not enabled these features for Canada but being a noob, can some one confirm if indeed thats the case or I am doing something wrong. Apparently when I called alexa support they believed that I should be able to see this functionality however even couldn't resolve the issue.

Re: Missing Features - Echo in Canada
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2018, 03:19:11 pm »
there are many things different /disabled  when you use a Canadian setup
losing access to many skills is the biggest thing most users complain about.

Laurel

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 06:02:42 pm »
I don't think .ca knows what .com is doing on Alexa and vice versa.  I have had my Alexa devices on Amazon.com since Echo first came out.  Recently I could stay on .com and set up my device with a Canadian address and get weather to my location i.e. Alexa what's the weather with her answering Weather in Douglas Canada is 5 C etc.  Then all of a sudden Alexa knew squat about my location. I wrote to .com and they told me I had registered my devices to .ca.  I said "no, I have never changed where they are registered which is .com, but I entered a Canadian address and was getting accurate weather reports for a week, and then it stopped abruptly".  But they insist that the only way I received Canadian weather was when my devices were registered to .ca.  I give up.  They are hopeless these days.  Reps try to be nice, but they are obviously all off shore and don't really know what is happening.

Alexa in Canada