Echo & Alexa Forums

Alexa offline

Maff

Alexa offline
« on: September 20, 2015, 07:13:47 am »
This morning my Echo is unable to respond to any commands. Simply says 'something went wrong' or 'I don't know how to help you with that'. I've re set it up, but repeatedly it says in the App that Echo is offline. I'm an ex technician & I've checked connectivity & this is fine. I'm wondering if many Amazon echo servers are down. Anyone else having problems? I'm in the UK, and right now the US is asleep. The timing is interesting, just as the new Alexa provision for the new fire TV goes live. Hopefully it will come on again later.  :(

Maff

Re: Alexa offline
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2015, 07:54:50 am »
Now echo is back online, but Pandora and Iheartradio/TuneIn are still not working. Connected home stuff is very slow or doesn't work. I tried calling Amazon to see if the problem is there end. They had a message saying they are experiencing high call volumes (in the very early morning hours US time) and when I persisted trying to get through all I got was a message saying they are having technical problems during an upgrade and can't answer the call. I guess they will sort it out soon enough.

RKnudsen

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2015, 07:58:29 am »
It is not for me :( The indicator LED says it is connected (which means only to my local wifi) but there are no services available. I just asked for the weather and it said that Accuweather was under the weather right now.
They should have a service availability page where one can find up- and downtimes.

Maff

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2015, 08:48:06 am »
Seems to have gotten worse again for me too. Now even the alexa app states it is offline. Reports dribbling in from other folk on Twitter saying similar. Did see a report saying Amazon instant video was down, but mine in the UK seems fine.

Jamanix

« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2015, 09:47:27 am »