Echo & Alexa Forums

Future of Alexa's AI and memory

EcoJacobs

Future of Alexa's AI and memory
« on: August 23, 2015, 08:25:04 pm »
Hello,

I am new to Alexa and AI.  We have had her (I am find it fun to anthropomorphize) for about 3 weeks now.  I am generally impressed by the voice recognition software.  She seems to understand me when I am careful with my pronunciation.  In her own ways, she is very useful (music, news, weather, etc.), but I am now starting to see her limitations in terms of effective memory and the ability to have conversations.  I stumbled across the SDK website and see the investment plans ($100M), so it appears that there is an active group developing her further, so it will be interesting to see how she evolves with time.

Right now, it is interesting to see how people are making her control more of their houses functions, etc.  This for me is not too useful, though I can see how it would be great for people with disabilities.  What intrigues me is how her AI will evolve and trying to further understand the program hierarchy and infrastructure behind Alexa.  Also, the SDK is interesting, as it seems to work at a remote server level as a set of subroutines (please correct me if I have it wrong - I am still learning...)  that are activated using keywords.  These are nice, but definitely do not add to the illusion of a conversation with an AI/chatbot.  It seems that only mods made to her main program over at Amazon can do this.  I am guessing that the Amazon developer folks will most likely add similar routines over time to ones that SDK folks are developing now, but just looking at the forums posts to date show that the ability to add things (like nest) seems to involve workarounds that make it kinda clunky to use.