Get CPR certified in 30 minutes at CPR Test Center.
Echo & Alexa Forums

Harmony & Alexa Voice Commands

aholloway17

Harmony & Alexa Voice Commands
« on: January 12, 2018, 07:57:41 pm »
Hi all,

Newbie here. I received my first Echo Dot for Christmas which prompted me to add a Harmony Hub and remote. I already had a Harmony remote so the basic set up and linking wasn't terribly difficult. I've connected a Bluetooth radio and Spotify and all of that is fine. I am unable to get or understand how to use voice commands specific to functioning commands other than turn on the TV, Cable, or Stereo. Commands like volume up or down, change TV input, or bring up the cable guide. I've done thing like adding simple names to the devices, ensured missing commands were added those types of things. Any suggestions or links to where to learn would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Allen

Snakeyes

Re: Harmony & Alexa Voice Commands
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2018, 04:46:26 am »
Once you have set and linked up your Harmony app you should not have to do anything else after you have asked Echo to discover Devices/Scenes.
Once you are watching or listening, feel free to try a wide range of commands that you would typically do physically or through your Harmony.
Have you tried commands like "Alexa, increase volume" or "Alexa turn on CBS" or "Alexa, pause", etc. Keep in mind that your voice will be competing with your speakers for Alexa's attention.

Could also change the command to "Alexa, ask harmony to....... ".

aholloway17

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2018, 08:36:02 am »
Thanks for that reply. That worked for some commands like volume and station select. Other commands like changing inputs on the TV or bringing up the cable guide do you know if those are possible? I went through the remote setup to program those features but not sure what command if any will work.

Allen

Snakeyes

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2018, 09:58:39 am »