Echo & Alexa Forums

I have heard of it but can't find it.

joeb1944

I have heard of it but can't find it.
« on: November 06, 2017, 12:07:49 am »
Hello. 
  I have heard that a cam can detect motion and cause Alexa to react as directed. 
  I cant seem to find out what cam I need nor the code to tell Alexa if any movement is detected between 2 and 7 am turn on my lights.
  I don't have a cam but have lights, plugs and a echo.dot.  I am still new to this and would appreciate a hand hold method.

Thank you in advance for your input,

Joe

asianrocker

Re: I have heard of it but can't find it.
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 10:03:29 am »
I Google it. Most of what I see it's for the show. You also have to pay for cloud server.

Offline tthoben

• Greetings from sunny Singapore!
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2017, 11:03:29 am »
Hello. 
  I have heard that a cam can detect motion and cause Alexa to react as directed. 
  I cant seem to find out what cam I need nor the code to tell Alexa if any movement is detected between 2 and 7 am turn on my lights.
  I don't have a cam but have lights, plugs and a echo.dot.  I am still new to this and would appreciate a hand hold method.

Thank you in advance for your input,

Joe

you should do a search if the required skill is currently available. I've done a quick search of available skills for cameras, doesn't seem to match what you are looking for
Echo Dot @ SG

« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2017, 06:06:41 pm »
not sure if it would be a skill so check out ifttt.  though I am looking for something better, my current setup is a hue motion sensor that turns on a light with a location aware dropcam.   it seems to work pretty good together

joeb1944

« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2017, 06:54:52 pm »
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2017, 06:06:41 pm »