Echo & Alexa Forums

Alexa and playing music on soundbar

JeffElzy

Alexa and playing music on soundbar
« on: September 22, 2017, 11:05:48 am »
My setup: Samsung SoundBar, Harmony Hub, Echo Dot
My Goal: "Alexa, play Jeff's playlist on SoundBar".
My problem: I have to 1st tell Alexa to turn on the SoundBar, then switch input to bluetooth, then sync bluetooth, then play the playlist.

As you can tell I'm a newb. How can I simplify this?
I did setup a Harmony Activity for the SoundBar to turn on and switch input to BT, but that is as far as I can get it.
Thanks.

asianrocker

Re: Alexa and playing music on soundbar
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2017, 11:28:56 am »
I don't know if you can set it up through smart things that's samsung right? Have you tried that? But it does look like soundbar is used as an external BT speaker. In my case once my BT device had been paired once with echo, if I turn my BT on that device, echo automatically pairs with it. Yours does not do that?

And then you can just tell echo to play your playlist. Why are some people making it complicated for themselves is beyond me.

Oh but if you really want to use that command for some weird reason you can try IFTT. People love that for that very reason which is why I don't get it and never use it.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2017, 11:31:12 am by asianrocker »

JeffElzy

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2017, 11:42:50 am »
Yeah, my dot will not reconnect after using the soundbar with TV on Digital In.
And as I said, I am new to this world. Lots to learn.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2017, 11:55:03 am by JeffElzy »

asianrocker

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2017, 12:02:37 pm »
You lost me with tv on digital in. Whatever it means. And why do you think it mess with your BT pairing? And FYI, I too am in that dilemma. I find I have to turn my laptop BT on/off EVERYTIME now for it to work with my echo. I never have to do that before.